05
May
09

Mercy Mercedes – Casio Rodeo review

I usually dislike power pop musically. Every song sounds the same. However it’s pleasing to my non-musically cultivated ears. I go for a little Motion City Soundtrack(Probably because Mark Hoppus is the producer) Pop is catchy, and that’s why we like. The band I’m reviewing is Mercy Mercedes, from whom a  power pop obsessed fanboy that I just happen to know, likes.

Mercy Mercedes sounds like you’re begging a Mercedes not to run you over.

What I though. . .

What I though. . .

The band name sounds like Hey Mercedes, but it’s only much worse and uglier too. Hey Mercedes is pretty good, I think this band is not.

Hey Mercedes(LOL Double Entrende), were decent looking guys.

"Hey Mercedes(LOL Double Entrende), we're decent looking guys."

UGLY

Guy in middle is looking at girl at way right's tits.

From left to right.

  • Doing It Wrong

    Doing It Wrong

    Yellow-haired guy –  Since you look kinda weird, I’m calling you Princess. Stop trying to be “cool”. You’re doing it wrong and trying to hard. No offense, but your facial expression tells me you’re taking a fucking shit. The way you angle your head shows a slight double chin. The peace sign is outdated and lame. Did I mention your hair stinks? Wow, American Eagle, how original. I saw a really fat girl at American Eagle once, and you sorta of look like her. Maybe you are her with crazy plastic surgery(you looked better before :( )Yellow guy, your fashion stinks. The only thing that’s going for you might be your personality. If I was a girl I’d rate you a 69 out of 1 billion.

  • Semi-Bald Guy – You look like Justin Timberlake.
    This is actually Justin Timberlake.

    This is actually Justin Timberlake. Also voted most stylish man by GQ.

    Don’t take that as a compliment, because it isn’t. Justin Timber is the creator of musically acclaimed albums such as Futuresex/LoveSounds(He’s good at grammar). Let me do a quick review of FutureSex/LoveSounds.

    • FutureSex/LoveSounds
    • He sounds  like a fucking girl. No grown man could make sounds that high. He also has insane lyrical talent, which could only be born from coming out of such a critically-acclaimed band like ‘N-Sync.  He just fucking repeats “what goes around comes around and goes around”. I get the point, Justin.  That is some talent from some genius. He’s also incredibly genius because he dated Britney Spears. Nice “wardrobe malfunction” too. I give this album a mango out of a papaya.

    Going back to you semi-baldy guy, I’m nicking-naming you Sandwich, because I just had a sandwich. However it was not a dick sandwich like you, Sandwich. By the way, why’s bread getting fucking expensive? Your style is the classic “douche-bag” neck. Wearing it just screams DOUCHEBAG!!!! Why’s he smiling? Because 1 from the right guy has his arm on him. But your face is funny, and you have a nice smile. You kinda look like a monkey. I rate you a 6.5 out of donut flash drive.

  • Middle guy – You are checking out guy in far right’s junk/tits (what ever you prefer). I’m going to call you Snoopy, because you’re snooping to see his “wild” thang. Here we have a “do ask do tell” policy at PissedOffKorean, so I would like to tell. (I’m not saying being homo/bisexual is a bad thing) As for your hair, it’s parted way too fucking much so you’re doing it wrong. Your shirt is terrible. It looks like a stoned five-year old(don’t give your children drugs) took a fucking white and yellow crayon on black paper, and tried to write MessHead(a shitty t-shit company). I’m pretty convinced with your slitty eyes, and asian-like(NOT ASIAN) hair, you’re trying to be asian. If you’re doing that you are no better than Miley Cyrus. I give you a negative walnut out of a testicle for insulting Asians. If you’re not, you still get that score because I happen to think you’re ugly.
  • Bald Guy – You’re bald, and bald is always in fashion. Like Shaolin monks!
    Pictured: Baldys alter ego, Monkman.

    Pictured: Baldy's alter ego, Monkman.

    Shaolin monks have pretty good fashion sense. Since you’re bald, I’m nicknaming you Baldy. It’s a pretty good name for a bald person, considering you are bald. You also have your arm around Sandwich/Semi-Bald Guy/Justin Timberlake cosplayer. That’s a personal display of affection or PDA as I like to call it. The affection may be romantic or platonic. It all depends. You have a nice shirt Baldy. The navy blue contrasts with the shininess of your head, because bald people have shiny heads. You also have pointy ears. Maybe I should call you Elf. I rate you a bald head out of 4 bald heads.

  • He looks like Batman.

    He looks like Batman.

    Aston Kutcher – I was an avid fan of that 70’s show, and looking at this Ashton Kutcher cosplayer has made me want to see this more. Ashton Kutcher has a funny name, like Asher Roth. They should make Aston Kutcher into a WoW town too. It would be awesome, and Fez and the Butterfly Effect guy will be NPCs. Back on topic, this guy is a shittier cosplayer than Sandwich. He barely resembles Aston Kutcher, as he is supposed to be so I’m going to call him that. He also has a douchebag  shirt like Sandwich, except it’s blue which is to color of the ocean, and piss goes into the ocean, so it’s dumb. He also further exemplifies the dumb trait by wearing a Hawaiian necklace, when he is from North Carolina, and the fact that the sharktooth is probably from the ocean and piss goes into the ocean so it’s dumb. His hair also looks like a girl’s pubes. Girls can pull off his hair better than guys can. If I was lesbian, 2 out of the square root of infinite.

  • The Dumbfuck Photoshop Artist –  You my friend, are a dumbass. The picture is too bright. Why the fuck did you do that? If I get fucking epilepsy, I’m suing your ass. Neon green with pink doesn’t usually match either. Makes it look like a stupid watermelon. Green scanlines, and pink spaint splatter. Is that the best you can do? I seriously hope this isn’t official. Wait! Yes it fucking is. The title is “Let’s Relive the Eighties”.

“December 30, 2007 4:10 PM
awesome pic! it is my computer wallpaper =)”

The pic is her fucking wallpaper. All the comments are stupid too.

That was exactly 1001 words and I said shit about the band. I’m sorry, band. Oh well, the actually factually review will be premiering shortly.

Mercy Mercedes – Casio Rodeo EP.

Whats up with the DDR things? Album Art: 5/10

What's up with the DDR things?Looks like it's made from the same guy who made the picture above. Album Art: 5/10

At first I thought, this album was going to be about graphing calculators, and bulls, but apparently it is not so.

Unrelated

Unrelated

Unrelated

Unrelated

So, Mercy Mercedes hail from Greensboro, North Carolina. They’re like the heroes of the music scene I guess. But are Princess, Sandwich, Snoopy, Baldy, and Aston Kutcher make good pop music? You will find out by the end of the review.

  1. Dr. Huxtable – I don’t particularly like this band, but even I listened to it 30 times or so today. I guess it’s very catchy. However, it’s very braggy and boasty as they’re basically saying their musical dicks are two feet long(the size of blink-182’s, radio head’s musically dick is at least 5 feet) which they aren’t. It starts off with two kids saying how good the band is and that’s basically all it says. One of the best tracks on this EP. However the bad part about this song? Nothing to do with Bill Cosby.
  2. Shiver Me Timbers – Sounds like a bad All Time Blow song. Not saying ATL is good but . . . Should have more pirate in it.
  3. Get It Darlin’ – No one says darlin’ anymore, it’s very outdated, because there are awesomer terms to use. The same is with this song. Easily forgettable.
  4. The Perfect Scene – Pretty catchy. This song could easily make them breakthrough and put them on the spotlight. The vocals easily grab your attention, and the chorus is extremely catchy. The chorus has been running rampant through my head all day. Better than any of All Time Blow or other bands are putting out.
  5. Here We Are – Loving the acoustic strums. They complement the guy’s voice.
  6. Revolution – Shit song means shit to shitty me. Sorry :(

Looking at it as a EP, it’s nothing new, no originality.

They got just signed to the Militia group, so you’ll see them all commercializeeed soon enough. The producer was Paul Levitt who worked with The Hint, Cute is What We Aim For, The Cab, and All Time Blow.

Bottom line, if you like power pop, you’ll love this band. But I don’t so HAH!.

Vocals – 8 Pretty sweet voice actually. Sounds like the guy from Valencia.

Musicianship – 6 They’re okay with the synth, guitar drums bass are lacking though.

Lyrics – 7 Not so bad, but not good.

Originality – 4 NOTHING NEW.

Average = 62.5% or a D-. If you want to read a better and less humorous by Steve Hendereson@ AP.NET click here.


Here’s what FuckThatBand.com have to say.

I would rather eat my baby brother for lunch than listen to Mercy Mercedes.

O noes. I hope mom doesn’t read my blog or I will soooooooooooo be grounded.”

1 Response to “Mercy Mercedes – Casio Rodeo review”


  1. 1 nicky
    May 6, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    you edited in the baby thing :O


Leave a Reply

Search

Hits

  • 34,614 hits

Categories


